Armed Forces Careers

CH Pupils:- Want some advice on a career you're interested in? Want some job contacts for work experience, qualifications required?
Old Blues:- Want to support pupils and other old blues with careers advice in your area of expertise?

Moderator: Moderators

mattyjadams
2nd Former

Armed Forces Careers

Post by mattyjadams »

Was suggested that I start a thread for all Armed Forces so I'll echo what was said:

Antiphon said:
Happy to talk to anyone about careers in the Army, consulting or recruitment.

I said:
Likewise I am able to offer help on any career in the Royal Air Force (Recruitment/lifestlye etc) especially the Flying (Aircrew side of things). May be able to organise visits etc...
greg
3rd Former

Post by greg »

As a serving young officer I am only to happy to answer anyone's queries on the Army, be it selection, Sandhurst or Regimental duty.
Greg Colton
LaB/LaA 89-96
Mark1
GE (Great Erasmus)

Post by Mark1 »

Well, I'm on the deps, looking seriously at a Gap Year Commission in the Army.

I'm currently looking at the numerous Infantry and Cavalry regiments one might try to join; any advice on any which might seem particularly suitable to a (well, in the near future) Old Blue?

Any personal experience which anyone would like to share on the above question, and on the RCB briefing and the actual Board would be gratefully received!
Exiled_in_Rome
LE (Little Erasmus)

Post by Exiled_in_Rome »

My very good friend is currently CO of the DandD's. They are in Basra South at the moment, but will be returning to Catterick towards the end of the year. When visiting him at the end of last year in Catterick I bumped into some of the guys on Gap Year Commissions attached to the Regiment - they appeared to be having an excellent time. If you wish, I would happily put you in touch with him (tho' he is a touch busy at the moment).