The Perfect Wholemeal Loaf

Anything that doesn't fit anywhere else, and is NON CH related - chat about the weather, or anything else that takes your fancy.

Moderator: Moderators

Angela Woodford
Button Grecian

The Perfect Wholemeal Loaf

Post by Angela Woodford »

OK, the white flag goes up.

I'm a good cook. I love to cook, BUT....

can I produce a perfect stoneground wholemeal loaf? Nah. I used to work near Cranks, Marshall Street, W1, where I could buy a fabulous loaf; totally delicious and light! I learned breadmaking from the accurately acid tongue and scathing efficiency of Miss Jukes. No technical fault could have slipped past that beady eye. Kneading, proving in the wonderful hot cupboardy fixture, the right oven temperature, all the theory.

How is is it that when I long for a Cranks-style loaf, I produce a solid house brick? I want to do an organic loaf with lovely seeds in it... try out those alternative flours I see... Oh, and I splurged on that organic Dough Improver I saw at Lakeland, which didn't make any difference.

There. I've admitted it. :( and need tips from those more successful than I. Solid heavy house brick. :cry:
"Baldrick, you wouldn't recognise a cunning plan if it painted itself purple, and danced naked on top of a harpsichord singing "Cunning plans are here again.""
J.R.
Forum Moderator

Re: The Perfect Wholemeal Loaf

Post by J.R. »

This sounds like we have to await a reply from Notorious Neill !!!
John Rutley. Prep B & Coleridge B. 1958-1963.
Angela Woodford
Button Grecian

I'm rather hoping that sejintenej David might reply. I so enjoyed his glorious recipe with caramelly condensed milk - mmm! - he's a great cook! With Prue Leith as his always on hand cookery book. Respect.

Nono! I'm trying to concentrate on bread! :? There must be some brilliant bakers in Blueland.
"Baldrick, you wouldn't recognise a cunning plan if it painted itself purple, and danced naked on top of a harpsichord singing "Cunning plans are here again.""