1830s/1840s CH student John Denton Hall?

Post requests for information about people you've lost touch with, and would like to contact again.

Moderator: Moderators

samuel.truett
2nd Former

1830s/1840s CH student John Denton Hall?

Post by samuel.truett »

My name is Sam Truett, and I am a professor of history in the United States (at the University of New Mexico). I am writing a biography of an individual who according to family correspondence from the nineteenth century was a former Christ’s Hospital student. I am interested in getting in touch with someone who might be able to help me shine light on this individual.

His name was John Denton Hall, and I believe he was a student of the Royal Mathematical School—one of the so-called King’s Boys who were singled out for apprenticeship in the Royal Navy—during the late 1830s and early 1840s. His father was Thomas Hall, a prominent Staffordshire potter who with his father and brothers (firm of John Hall & Sons) went bankrupt in the 1830s. From what I’ve been able to determine from family correspondence, John Denton Hall's brothers may have also gone to Christ’s Hospital (if so, a bit later, in the 1840s). Their names were Frederick Thomas Hall and Charles Kennerley Hall, and with their cousin, Samuel Denton, they became successful nineteenth-century lawyers in London and Paris in the family firm Denton & Hall (today one of the most prominent UK law firms, Denton Wilde Sapte).