Trying to find some translating work

Looking for a job? Want a work experience placement?
Find jobs advertised by Old Blues.
Post a "JOB WANTED" advert.
Advertise your jobs to other Old Blues.
Please delete your ads once expired - all post will be removed after 60 days....

Moderator: Moderators

Wuppertal
GE (Great Erasmus)

Trying to find some translating work

Post by Wuppertal »

I see this is a very viable and worthwhile means of additional income for while I'm studying and indeed through the holidays - part-time work at any time.

Problem is, absolutely everywhere I look requires the dreaded 'experience'. I wonder, how on earth do young people start in life if every single employer on the face of the earth wants 30 years' experience?! Seems a bit of an impossible and vicious circle to me, and, I regret to say, does not make me the slightest bit confident for when I graduate.

I have done a few official, paid translations but only on odd occasions when someone else was busy, rather than actually being offered the job myself on merit.

Sorry, I haven't actually asked a question yet - but basically if anyone could point me in the direction of a translation agency that is willing to offer jobs to new and young people without loads of experience, I would be extremely grateful. Or if not an agency, any kind of source where I could stand a chance. Surely they must all start somewhere - but where?

I am bilingual, have a good command of three other foreign languages, have lived in 5 different countries and am doing a degree in modern languages at university. But I am finding it near-enough impossible to find any part-time translation work. I would in addition be able to provide any prospective takers with sample of work that I have done, in the form of a French medical paper that I translated into English. Any recommendations to where I should look to, what I should do, what not to do, etc., would be greatly appreciated! Thank you.
Ajarn Philip
Button Grecian